HURST CHAPEL BAPTIST CHURCH

"It was a very beautiful morning in the hearts of the people when they gathered at the Germany School house to organize a church January *5*, 1916 and that spirit is still inspiring us today at Hurst Chapel," writes Vickie Parker.

Of the 71 families living in the Hurst Chapel area, 17 became members of the new church. They elected Reverend J. W. Ownby as first pastor, E. M. Ogle as first church clerk, and in April of the same year, they selected a building committee: E. M. Ogle, West Reagan, J. S. Romines, James England, W. R. Burkette, Pink Large, and W. A. Marine.

The Reverend Evans Hurst, pastor in 1917, was a very active money collector, often going door to door to get money to build the new church. With his help and the work of the membership, a new building was completed by January 13, 1920 and it was named "Hurst Chapel" in honor of Pastor Hurst. In 1921, the church installed a new bell that rang in every service and many times, it was a somber signal of death.

Membership was not taken for granted. If one failed to attend regularly, he or she was dismissed. All members called each other "Brother" or "Sister" and when Revival time came, often not one but several ministers led the services where as many as 20 converts were added to the church "by experience," a term we now call "getting saved" or "conversion."

There were many exclusions for such things as playing Rook cards, using profanity, telling lies, and other "sins."

Reverend A. W. McDaniel preached the dedication sermon January 14, 1920 at a special service in the new church. Hurst Chapel had already joined The Sevier County Baptist Association, writing for admission September 2, 1916. Each year messengers were sent to the annual meeting. In 1920, there were 72 members.

Through the years there were renovations and additions until the mid 60s when the church built again, paying off the debt August 10, 1966. The membership began a bus ministry in 1976 when Bruce Mc- Carter and Tommy McCarter were bus driver and assistant. Many present leaders at Hurst Chapel are descendants of those faithful first members:

Leadership personalities through 1970:

BUILDING COMMITTEES: E. M Ogle, West Reagan, J. S. Romines, James England, W. R. Burkette, Pink Large, W. A. Marine, Clifford Brackins, J. R. Brackins, Daniel King, Reverend France Parton, J. W. Ogle.

PASTORS: Evans Hurst, J. W. Ownby, W. M. Kerley, Robert King,

Henry Webb, Eli McCarter, J. J. Carr, Otha Ownby, Melvin Roark, George Brewer, Robert Eslinger, D. G. Blalock, Clifford Williamson, J. A. Baker, Richard Watson, L. E. Wilhoite, O. P. Chesney, Hobert Whaley, J. S. Whaley, Odis Parrott, and France Parton, Melvin Roark was assistant pastor in 1917.

CLERKS, TREASURERS: J. P. Large, Oliver Large, Homer England, Flora Large, George Large, Cora Ogle, Nicholas Kear, Josie Marine, Polly Huskey, Noah Bohanon, Bates Marine, Robert Cooper, Lorance Shults, Ephriam Ramsey, Bessie Chambers, Zula Brackins, Myrtle Marine, Junior Brackins, Lona Whaley, Charlotte Ann Brackins.

TRUSTEES: J. P. Large, Ashly Watson, Wilson Franklin, A. P. Myers, Elmer Reagan, Wilson Franklin. Clifford Brackins, Daniel King, P. D. Ogle.

DEACONS: Joe Ogle, Ashly Watson, Junior and Clifford Brackins, Bruce Ogle, Manuel Fox, Richard Lethco, Junior Brackins, P. D. Ogle.

MESSENGERS (called delegates in church minutes),

TO THE ASSOCIATION: 1924: John Ogle, Joe Starkey, J. P. Large. 1925: John Manning, Elmer Reagan, Pleas Myers, Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Large. 1929: Reverend Melvin Roark, Nicholas Kear, John Ogle. 1934: Noah Bohanon, John Ogle, Baily Lethco, Lorance Shultz, Polly Huskey. 1936: Mr. and Mrs. Noah Bohanon, Mr. and Mrs. Robert Cooper, Mr. and Mrs. Edd Mellinger, Flora Large. 1937: Noah Bohanon, Bates and Josie Marine. 1955: Mr. and Mrs. Hobert Whaley, Mr. and Mrs. Junior Brackins, Dexter Chambers: *1956:* Ernest Metcalf, Lona Whaley, Mr. and Mrs. J. Brackins, Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Whaley, Bessie Chambers, Elmer Reagan. *1957:* Reba Houser, Zula Carr, Mr. and Mrs. Junior Brackins, Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Whaley. 1961: Mr. and Mrs. Junior Brackins, Reverend and Mrs. Elmer Lethco, Reverend and Mrs. Odis Parrott, 1962: Manuel Fox, Junior Brackins, Roy Fox, David Green. 1963: Mr. and Mrs. J. Brackins, Mr. and Mrs. France Parton, Charlotte Watson, Manuel Fox, Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Lethco, Lona Whaley.

SEXTON-JANITORS: W. A. Marine, Joe Starkey, Russell Starkey, S. Wright, Minnie McClure, J. W. Ogle, Charles Ramsey, Dewey and Darrell Snapp, Elsie Ogle, P. D. Ogle, Junior Brackins.

SUNDAY SCHOOL TEACHERS: Audie Myers, Ben Flemming, Mrs. Steve Huskey, Clown Cams, Polly Huskey, Flora Large, Mr. McCelder, Robert Cooper, Josie Marine, Buford Cole, Nellie Ogle, Mozell Lethco, Edith Chambers, Mae Brackins, Zula Brackins, Emma Trentham, Dixie Green, Bessie Chambers, Bruce Ogle, J. W. Ogle, Sam Chambers, Fay Marine, Hobert Whaley, May Gray, Charlotte Maples, Kate McCarter, Linda Cantrell, Wanda Lethco, Edna Parton, Claude Reagan, Elitha Huskey, Diane Reagan, Charlotte Huskey, Lilly Parton, Grace Ogle.

SUNDAY SCHOOL SUPERINTENDENTS: Melvin Roark, Joe Starkey, Steve

Huskey, Nicholas Kear, Noah Bohanon, Robert Cooper, Elmer Reagan, Emerty Myers, Sam Quilliams, Bates Marine, George Green, Ephriam Ramsey, Larance Shultz, William Legaret, Amos Mellinger, Dewey Large, Victor Starkey, Hobert Whaley, Ivan Ogle.

SUNDAY SCHOOL SECRETARIES: Addie McCaldy, Cora Ogle, Fred Blalock, Dorothy Myers, Edith Hatcher, Hazel Roark, Lou Mellinger, Johnnie Ogle, Josie Marine, Rebecca Trentham, Trula Reagan, Zula Brackins, Elma Trentham, Mae Gray, Linda Ogle, Edna Parton, Ivan Ogle.

MUSIC: Amy Myers, Robert Cooper, Zula Brackins, France Parton, Richard Trentham, Charlotte Maples, Kate McCarter, Kathy Ogle, David Parton.

Pastor, Reverend A. J. Porterfield, 1989.

Information from Vickie Parker.